Welcome to the SRC Users' Meeting Website!

This year marks 45 years since the first dedicated Synchrotron operation begun in Stoughton. Because of this, part of the SRC Users' meeting will be a celebration of this fact by highlighting the scientific accomplishments including talks about SRC history and presentations from distinguished scientists who have worked at SRC over the last decades.


The SRC Users' Meeting will be held Friday, September 27, and Saturday, September 28, 2013 in the PSL Conference Room at the Physical Sciences Lab in Stoughton, WI (adjacent to SRC). The meeting provides an opportunity for Users to present their work and for SRC staff to provide updates on the facility including future plans.  View our Flyer (PDF) by clicking here.


**Important Updates**

  • Highway 51 Detour Information Vehicle travel may be impacted by road construction. See link for alternate routing.
  • Registration is now closed.
  • The Guest House at SRC no longer has vacancy for the week of the Users' meeting.  Lodging options may still be available at local hotels, see the Lodging page for more information.
  • For a list of current abstracts submitted by attendees of the 2013 Users' Meeting click here.

  • Click here for the current Users' Meeting Agenda


Speakers include:


Dr. Christian Ast

Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research

Stuttgart, Germany

Dr. Juan Carlos Campuzano
Distinguished Professor

Department of Physics

University of Illinois at Chicago


Dr. Cherice Evans

Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Queens College/CUNY, New York

Dr. Kathleen Gough
Department of Chemistry
University of Manitoba, Canada


Dr. Franz J. Himpsel

Ednor M. Rowe Professor

Department of Physics

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr. Carol Hirschmugl

Department of Physics
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Dr. John Joyce

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Condensed Matter & Thermal Physics

New Mexico

Dr. Steve Kevan

Deputy Director of Science

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory



Dr. David W. Lynch

Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Department of Physics & Astronomy

Iowa State University

Dr. Iwao Matsuda
Institute for Solid State Physics,
University of Tokyo, Japan



Dr. Rebecca Metzler

Assistant Professor

Physics & Astronomy

Colgate University, New York

Dr. Tom Miller

Research Associate Professor

Department of Physics

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Dr. T. K. Sham

Beam Team Scientific Leader, Canadian Light Source

Canada Research Chair, Director of Soochow University-Western Univ. Centre

Dr. Miriam Unger

CETICS Healthcare Technologies GmbH



Dr. Ralf Wehlitz

Senior Scientist

Synchrotron Radiation Center

University of Wisconsin - Madison



Scenes from the 2012 SRC Users' Meeting